LASER BEAM SHAPING FOR

_INNOVATION

_PRECISION

_PROTOTYPING

_SAVING COSTS

LASER BEAM SHAPING FOR

INNOVATION

PRECISION

PROTOTYPING

SAVING COSTS

;

EXIST Transfer of Research Midel Photonics

A Bright, Sustainable Future

Aiming for e-mobility, sharper displays or ever-smarter solutions using semiconductors: our modern information society faces major challenges that can only be mastered through advancing innovation. To make the development of new machining processes with lasers agile and efficient, a quickly available, high-quality and flexible solution is needed. 

Material Processing with Shaped Laser Beams

We develop beam shaping optics for use with high-power and ultrashort pulse lasers in manufacturing industry. Our mission is to provide high quality and fast availability. A beam shape adapted to the manufacturing step increases the efficiency of existing processes and paves the way for new technologies.

Spin-off Uni Bonn

Midel Photonics is a spin-off project at the University of Bonn. Our patent-pending manufacturing process has already proven successful in basic research on quantum technologies. Now we are preparing the technology for industrial use. We believe in a future where every laser gets its appropriate beam shape.

Our Solution

We Develop Beam Shaping Optics

A single mirror is sufficient to shape a laser beam. If the mirror has a certain microstructure, an incoming beam is precisely transformed into the desired profile. The optimal beam shape varies with different manufacturing processes. Examples are cutting metal, where a sharp edge is preferred, or parallel processing of workpieces with split laser beams. Rings, drilling profiles or other geometries can also be realized with our beam-shaping optics.

Our commitment

Highest Quality Made-in-Germany

Manufactured & Ready-to-use in Hours

Compatible with High Power Lasers

Our Manufacturing Process

Structured Light + High Reflective Blank

= Beam Shaping Element

By using laser light, we create a structured surface on a mirror blank with a highly reflective coating. The result is a continuous diffractive optical element (DOE).

We are Midel Photonics

We are a team of four physicists with a passion for technical innovation. Our broad spectrum of interests is coupled with our experience in the fields of project management, hardware & software, technologies, product development, business administration and sales.

Dr. David Dung

Dr. David Dung

Project Lead

david.dung@midel-photonics.de
Dr. Christian Wahl

Dr. Christian Wahl

Technical Lead

christian.wahl@midel-photonics.de
Dr. Christopher Grossert

Dr. Christopher Grossert

Product Design Lead

christopher.grossert@midel-photonics.de
Frederik Wolf

Frederik Wolf

Financial Lead

frederik.wolf@midel-photonics.de

Awards & Successes

Excellence Funding

David Dung and Christian Wahl are awarded an open call grant for 2020 from the Cluster of Excellence ML4Q to further develop the technology. ML4Q is a joined project of the Universities of Aachen, Cologne, Bonn and the FZ Jülich.

Business Accelerator

Midel Photonics is accepted for the accelerator program „High-Tech.NRW“ and wins third place in the business pitch competition. The 12-week program (September – November 2020) supports high-tech startups with coaching and network.

EXIST Transfer of Research

The transfer of our technology to industrial use has been funded by the BMWi since April 2021 as part of a highly endowed EXIST Transfer of Research grant.

Contact

Institut für Angewandte Physik
Midel Photonics
Wegelerstr. 8 
53115 Bonn

+49(0)228-73-60454

info@midel-photonics.de

Let's get in touch

Partners and Funding

The project Midel Photonics is funded by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy and the European Social Fund as part of an EXIST Transfer of Research grant.

LASER BEAM SHAPING FOR

_INNOVATION

_PRECISION

_PROTOTYPING

_SAVING COSTS

LASER BEAM SHAPING FOR

INNOVATION

PRECISION

PROTOTYPING

SAVING COSTS

;

EXIST-Forschungstransfer Midel Photonics

Eine strahlende, nachhaltige Zukunft

Egal ob es um klimaneutrale Mobilitätslösungen, schärfere Displays oder immer smartere Lösungen durch Halbleiter geht: Unsere moderne Informationsgesellschaft steht vor großen Herausforderungen, die nur durch stetige Innovation zu meistern sind. Um die Entwicklung neuer Bearbeitungsprozesse mit Lasern agil und effizient zu gestalten, braucht es eine schnell verfügbare, hochwertige und flexible Lösung. 

Materialverarbeitung mit geformten Laserstrahlen

Wir entwickeln strahlformende Optiken zum Einsatz mit Hochleistungs- und Ultrakurzpulslasern in der verarbeitenden Industrie. Dabei zielen wir auf eine hohe Qualität und schnelle Verfügbarkeit ab. Durch eine auf den Bearbeitungsschritt angepasste Strahlform werden bestehende Arbeitsschritte effizienter und neue Produktionsverfahren ermöglicht.

Spin-off Uni Bonn

Midel Photonics ist ein Spin-off-Projekt an der Universität Bonn. Unser zum Patent angemeldetes Herstellungsverfahren hat sich bereits in der Grundlagenforschung zu Quantentechnologien erfolgreich bewährt. Jetzt arbeiten wir daran, die Technologie für den Einsatz in der Industrie vorzubereiten. Wir glauben an eine Zukunft, in der jeder Laser seine passende Strahlform erhält.

Unsere Lösung

Wir entwickeln strahlformende Optiken

Um einen Laserstrahl zu formen genügt bereits ein Spiegel im Strahlengang. Weist dieser eine bestimmte Mikrostruktur auf, so wird der eingehende Strahl passgenau in die gewünschte Zielform überführt. Die optimale Zielform kann für unterschiedliche Prozesse völlig verschieden sein. So erlaubt beispielsweise eine scharfe Kante im Laserprofil präziseres Schneiden oder die Aufteilung des Laserstrahls in viele Spots die parallele Bearbeitung von Werkstücken. Auch Ringe, Bohrprofile oder sonstige Geometrien lassen sich mit strahlformenden Optiken realisieren.

Unser Anspruch

Höchste Qualität Made-in-Germany

Produziert & einsatzbereit in Stunden

Kompatibel mit Hochleistungslasern

Unser Herstellungsverfahren

Strukturiertes Licht + Hochreflektiver Rohling

= Strahlformendes Element

Durch den Einsatz von Laserlicht erzeugen wir eine strukturierte Oberfläche auf einem Spiegelrohling mit hochreflektiver Beschichtung. Das Ergebnis ist ein kontinuierliches, diffraktives, optisches Element (DOE).

Wir sind Midel Photonics

Wir sind ein Team von vier Physikern mit einer gemeinsamen Leidenschaft zur technischen Innovation. Beim Technologietransfer hilft uns unser breites Interessenspektrum, gepaart mit unserer Erfahrung auf den Gebieten Projektmanagement, Hardware & Software, Technologien, Produktentwicklung, BWL und Vertrieb.

Dr. David Dung

Dr. David Dung

Projektleitung

david.dung@midel-photonics.de
Dr. Christian Wahl

Dr. Christian Wahl

Technische Leitung

christian.wahl@midel-photonics.de
Dr. Christopher Grossert

Dr. Christopher Grossert

Leitung Produktdesign

christopher.grossert@midel-photonics.de
Frederik Wolf

Frederik Wolf

Kaufmännische Leitung

frederik.wolf@midel-photonics.de

Preise und Erfolge

Exzellenzförderung

David Dung und Christian
Wahl werden für das Jahr 2020 mit einer Open-Call-Förderung des Exzellenzcluster ML4Q der Universitäten Aachen, Köln, Bonn und des FZ Jülich ausgezeichnet, um die Technologie weiter zu entwickeln.

Business-Accelerator

Midel Photonics wird in Accelerator-Programm „High-Tech NRW“ aufgenommen und gewinnt den dritten Platz im Business-Pitch Wettbewerb. Das 12 Wöchige Programm (September – November 2020) unterstützt High-Tech-Startups mit Coaching und Netzwerk.

EXIST-Forschungstransfer

Der Transfer unserer Technologie zum industriellen Einsatz wird seit April 2021 vom BMWi im Rahmen eines hochdotierten EXIST-Forschungstransfers gefördert.

Kontaktdaten

Institut für Angewandte Physik
Midel Photonics
Wegelerstr. 8 
53115 Bonn

+49(0)228-73-60454

info@midel-photonics.de

Schreiben Sie uns

Partner und Finanzierung

Das Projekt Midel Photonics wird im Rahmen eines EXIST-Forschungstransfers vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie und dem Europäischen Sozialfonds gefördert.